Sólstafir - Berdreyminn

Sólstafir – Berdreyminn – Album Review


  • 1. Silfur-Refur
  • 2. Ísafold
  • 3. Hula
  • 4. Nárós
  • 5. Hvít Sæng
  • 6. Dýrafjörður
  • 7. Ambátt
  • 8. Bláfjall


Feeling contemplative? Seeking delicate and tranquil soundscapes, yet maintaining the whole idea of heavy metal excellence?

I present you the Album of The Week – 26/2017, Sólstafir – Berdreyminn.

The obscure expectation of a new album, more than anything, kills most first-time desires to have our minds taken away into new shores, but Sólstafir knows better, and from the quiet intro to the punk roots the band delivers an intense work of over an hour long.

Nothing but the perspective of the music itself, no assumptions, precisely developed and recorded, Berdreyminn is a piece of pure musical quality, encompassing sensibilities such as psychedelia into punkish/metal moments.

Dark introspective music, sunk into individual songs, passing the general intentional effect of the album. An anguish that does not try to break free, just carrying you along towards the awesome melodic collections of a unique soundscape, while telling its story in superb instrumental dramatization.

Aðalbjörn Tryggvason vocals are spot on, with a shivering vibe during the retro moments bringing the guitar mood tone to life.

The comparison to the last work “Otta”, is inevitable. That album made many followers to Sólstafir. I found “Berdreyminn” heavier but not harsher, a melodic update when the whole is compared.

An album that paints a creative environment with enough energy for the majority of its intended audience.

Dynamic musical emotion put to practice, recommended!


  • Epic Rock N Roll

Band Members:

  • Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson
  • Svavar Austmann
  • Aðalbjörn Tryggvason


  • http://www.solstafir.net
  • http://www.facebook.com/solstafirice

Label: Seasons of Mist

Score: 9/10

Products from Amazon.com